Kundalini Yoga | Raja Yoga

Yoga and meditation have the power to improve our health and overall well-being. Different types of yoga, including Kundalini yoga, have the natural ability to enrich our mind, body, and soul and bring an array of benefits to our physical and mental health.

What Is Kundalini Yoga?

A practice as old as 500 years, Kundalini yoga dates back to the lineage of Sikh Masters such as Guru Nanak, Guru Ram Das, and Guru Gobind Singh. Kundalini yoga combines all the traditional eight limbs of yoga and focuses on bringing energy to rest at the base of the spine.

Kundalini yoga is a blend of spiritual and physical practices and incorporates movement, dynamic breather exercises, meditation, and chanting of mantras. The practice works to promote spinal health and gives life to each of the seven chakras.

The ultimate goal of Kundalini yoga is to balance the chakras and meridians present in our body, build vitality and increase consciousness.

How Is Kundalini Yoga Performed?

Kundalini yoga is performed using a series of breathing techniques that strengthen the effects of the practice and control the energy in the lower body to move in an upward direction.

A typical Kundalini yoga session consists of sequences or Kriyas, which include fast and repetitive movements performed with synchronized breathing techniques.

Kriya is a set of exercises or a pattern of movements, pranayamas, mudras, sound, and meditation that promotes positive energy to flow in the mind and body.

A typical Kundalini yoga session includes six major components listed below:

  1. Adi Mantra
  2. Pranayam or warm-up
  3. Kriya
  4. Relaxation
  5. Meditation
  6. Concludes with a blessing song or mantra

Here’s what a typical Kundalini yoga class looks like:

  • The practice begins with a short chant and followed by short stretching exercises that stretch the back muscles to improve agility and flexibility.
  • The practice includes “Kriyas,” which concentrate on precise areas of the body.
  • The energy ‘Sushumna’ present in the spinal column gets awakened and reaches the highest part of the spine known as the ‘Sahasrara’.
  • We then move on to Pranayama breathing techniques, which involve One Minute Breath, Breath of Fire, alternate nostril breathing, Dog Breath, Sitali Pranayam and suspended breathing techniques followed by Drishti, Mudras, and Asanas.
  • The session ends with a meditation practice and a large gong is struck followed by a closing song to complete the spiritual practice.

Benefits of Kundalini Yoga

Kundalini yoga enriches your way of life by channeling positive energy throughout the body as you perform the different asanas during the Kundalini yoga session.

Other benefits include:

  • Enrichment of the mind, body, and spirit
  • Improved blood circulation
  • Improved self-awareness
  • Strong balance of emotional and physical energy
  • Balance to the glandular system
  • Maintains a healthy nervous system
  • Expands the lung capacity
  • Purifies the bloodstream

Kundalini Yoga Is the Yoga of Enlightenment

Kundalini yoga brings out dormant energy to balance consciousness and inner peace. Individuals who are looking to be challenged should try out this form of yoga that promotes spirituality and mental well-being.

Quick FAQs

1. How many Kriyas are there in Kundalini yoga?

There is no specific amount of Kriyas in Kundalini yoga. Each session can include as many or as few Kriyas depending on the class and the instructor. Each Kriya has a different effect that works towards enhancing your overall well-being.

2. How many calories do you burn during a Kundalini yoga session?

Kundalini yoga can burn a decent amount of calories, however, the amount of calories you burn depends on your weight and metabolic rate.

3. How often should you practice Kundalini yoga?

It is important to listen to your body when it comes to engaging in physical activity. Do what makes you feel good and always consult your doctor or a practitioner if you are unsure of how much might be too much.

Updated by Siya Rajan on 05/09/2018

The content of this Website is for is for informational purposes only, is general in nature and is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease, and does not constitute professional advice. The information on this Website should not be considered as complete and does not cover all diseases, ailments, physical conditions, or their treatment. You should consult with your physician before beginning any exercise, weight loss, or health care program and/or any of the beauty treatments.


Kundalini Research Institute – Kundalini Yoga As Taught By … (n.d.). Retrieved March 26, 2018, from https://www.bing.com/cr?IG=A660229ADA4543FA8D509A0F577F5E17&CID=1D27557A3D1A623C19E15EC43C1C639F&rd=1&h=09-OV1xnxZu9PvJAKF7265FwAa-loULdKTpyPVe1pvM&v=1&r=https://kundaliniresearchinstitute.org/&p=DevEx,5059.1
Pizer, A. (n.d.). Inside the Mysteries of Kundalini Yoga. Retrieved March 26, 2018, from http://yoga.about.com/od/kundaliniyoga/a/kundalini.htm
Types of Yoga. (n.d.). Retrieved March 26, 2018, from http://www.medindia.net/yoga-lifestyle/Kundalini-yoga.htm