Gluten is a protein composite naturally present in wheat, barley, and rye; it’s also added to baked goods to make them chewy and used to thicken sauces, soups, condiments, and other processed foods. Going gluten-free means giving up on all these foods, but there’s no other option for those suffering from celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity. According to the Archives of Internal Medicine, one in 133 people has celiac disease (CD) and at least another six percent of the US population suffers from non-celiac gluten sensitivity.
Yet there are many myths surrounding the whole gluten-free phenomenon, which is why this series attempts to shatter them and inform you of the facts. In part one, we approach the top three myths surrounding gluten-free living.
Myth 1: All grains contain gluten.
Fact: While grains like wheat, barley, and rye, as well as anything derived from them contains gluten, there are some grains that are truly gluten-free like amaranth, buck wheat, corn, millet, quinoa and teff.
Myth 2: A gluten-free diet contains no carbs.
Fact: Carbs are naturally found in fruit, and dairy and grains, including gluten-free ones. Gluten-free versions of popular carbs such as bread, pasta, and pizza dough, are widely available now for sale. Here’s a quick guide to gluten-free pasta.
Myth 3: Today’s wheat contains more gluten than the wheat grown in the 1900s.
- Modern wheat contains less gluten than historical wheat, but improved gluten function.
- Processed foods contain more viral wheat gluten as an ingredient than ever before.
- There are different classes of wheat that have different amounts of protein.