woman with chakras highlighted on her body

You’ve probably heard people talk about how we need to “unblock our chakras” or “clear our chakras” in response to any obstacles in our life or illnesses we may be suffering from. Energy healers believe that our chakras, or the focal points of our body in which energy flows through, are essential to the balance of our mind, body, and spirit.

What Is a Chakra?

Chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning wheel. It refers to the spinning or rotating energy that is within us. There are seven focal points in our body where this energy spins, and this is referred to as the seven chakras.

A healthy, balanced person has energy equally spinning in all seven points of the body. Someone who has more or less energy at one point over another is often struggling with some kind of condition or illness in their life because of this imbalance.

7 Chakras Explained

As mentioned, there are believed to be seven points in the body where energy is spinning. These points begin from the top of the head to the base of the spine.

7 chakras diagram

1. Root Chakra

This is the first chakra and correlates to the base of our spine or tailbone area. This chakra relates to our connection to the earth and instinctual interest in survival. In modern times, this often relates to our need to be financially independent, emotionally secure, and be properly nourished.

2. Sacral Chakra

This is the area below the abdomen, about two inches below the navel. This area is all about our ability to connect with others and our emotional feelings related to sexuality, abundance, well-being, and pleasure.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra

The solar plexus refers to the area in the upper abdomen, where the stomach is. It correlates with our confidence energy and feelings of self-worth and self-esteem. The energy of this chakra determines how in control you feel of your life and how self-confident you feel.

4. Heart Chakra

Like the name implies, this is the area of the chest, just above the heart. Your ability to love, feel inner peace and joy are all affected by the energy that resides here.

5. Throat Chakra

How well you are able to communicate and share your feelings is often determined by the energy of the throat chakra, which is basically your throat area. This energy correlates with your ability to effectively self-express, communicate, and be truthful.

6. Third-Eye Chakra

Referred to as a third-eye because of its location on the forehead between your two eyes, this chakra is all about your inner wisdom. The energy here determines how well you are able to focus on the big picture, how imaginative you are, and how well you can think and make decisions for yourself.

7. Crown Chakra

This is the highest chakra and is the point at the very top of the head (where a crown might sit). This chakra is all about our spiritual energy. The crown chakra relates to our ability to be connected spiritually and how well we exude both inner and outer beauty.

Healing Your Chakras

If you find that you’re having trouble in a certain area of your life, it could be a result of your chakras being imbalanced. You don’t want any single chakra to be more active or underactive than another chakra. The balance of the energies is what makes you a happy and healthy individual.

To heal problems with your chakras, you can try a handful of techniques:

  • Meditation: pinpoint what feelings and energies feel out of place and focus on healing, empowering, or taming them.
  • Affirmations: this is especially helpful if there’s a chakra that is underactive. For instance, if your self-confidence is lacking, using positive affirmations can help increase the energy in your solar plexus and boost your confidence levels.
  • Massage: this helps release any tension or tightness in the body and increase the flow of energies throughout all of your chakras.
  • Music: sound can offer various frequencies that can be very healing for the chakras.
  • Aromatherapy: using essential oils can calm certain energies and incite others. Essential oils are often paired with massage for chakra healing.


The 7 Chakras for Beginners. (2009, October 28). Retrieved April 11, 2018, from https://www.mindbodygreen.com/0-91/The-7-Chakras-for-Beginners.html
Chakra Healing: 9 Amazing Ways To Clean And Heal Your Chakras. (2018, March 01). Retrieved April 11, 2018, from https://blog.mindvalley.com/chakra-healing/


Born and raised in Southern California, Beeta has embraced a healthy lifestyle focused on farm-to-table cooking, natural products, and wellness routines. When she's not writing up recipes or discussing the latest natural living trends, Beeta enjoys spending time trying new restaurants, traveling with family and friends, and relaxing at home with her furry companion.